• Thu. Aug 18th, 2022

How to Blocking Someone on Snapchat

Byadmin

Feb 1, 2022

This article describes how to block a user on Snapchat for iOS or Android, what happens when you do so, and alternative methods to block someone.

How to Block a Snapchat User

In five simple steps, you can block someone on Snapchat.

  1. Open the Snapchat app and search for the user you want to block by going to the conversations tab (marked by the speech bubble icon at the bottom) or using the search function at the top (marked by magnifying glass icon at the top). Then, conduct a search for their name.
  2. Tap the user to start a conversation with them.
  3. Tap the menu button in the upper-left corner of the chat tab.
  4. Select Block from the menu options that appear.
  5. Tap the Block button on the confirmation box to confirm that you want to block the user.

What Happens on Snapchat When You Block Someone?

When you block a user on Snapchat, that user can no longer contact or find you. They are unaware of your Snapchat activity or account.

A blocked user cannot do the following:

  • Send me photos or videos.
  • Begin a conversation with you.
  • Look at your stories.
  • If they look for you, they’ll find your account.

Will Someone Know If You Block Them on Snapchat?

Snapchat does not send a notification to a blocked user. However, that user may suspect they’ve been blocked on their own after noticing your activity and account have vanished.

The user can confirm that you blocked them is to searching for and finding your account using another unblocked Snapchat account.

Alternatives to Blocking Snapchat Users

The most powerful method of limited contact with other users is blocking. There are, however, less restrictive methods available.

Use the Do Not Disturb function.

This is the least restrictive method of blocking, as it silences all notifications from friends or groups. When you set a friend to Do Not Disturb, they can still send you snaps and chats. You simply will not be bothered by a notification every time they do.

If you want to remain friends with users while still receiving notifications for specific friends and groups, this is an excellent alternative to turning off app notifications.

To access the Do Not Disturb option, open a chat with a friend, tap the menu icon, and then select Do Not Disturb from the menu list.

Remove a Friend from Your Friends List

A user deleting removes them as friends, so you are no longer connected to them. They can still access your account and read the public stories you’ve posted. Depending on your privacy settings, they may even be able to send you snaps and chats.

You can contact and share private stories with friends while sharing public content with non-friends. Deleting a user is ideal.

To remove a user from your friend’s list, open a chat with them. Then, tap the menu icon and select Remove friend from the list.

Modify Your Privacy Settings to Allow Only Friends to Contact You

If a user who isn’t a friend sends you snaps, tries to chat with you, or views your stories views that you don’t want them to see, change your privacy settings so they can’t contact you. This option is complementary to removing users from your friend’s list.

Snapchat allows you to specify whether you want everyone (friends and strangers) or just your friends to contact you and view your stories.

  1. Tap on the profile icon in the app’s upper-left corner to change these settings.
  2. To access your settings, tap the gear icon and scroll down to the Who Can section.
  3. Tap Contact Me and then My Friends to limit who can send you snaps or chats.
  4. Return to View My Story and choose My Friends. Alternatively, click on Custom to create a custom privacy filter that prevents specific friends from seeing your stories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.